The wrong side of the tracks: a barrier

Earlier today I was riding my bike by City Creek when I noticed the fence-like barriers along the side of the downtown TRAX stop (to the left of the tracks in this picture):

20131031-144405.jpg

In the past, pedestrians could just walk across the TRAX, and many of them did.

However, there have been a lot of accidents involved TRAX and pedestrians in recent years, many of them fatal, so I suspect these sorts of barriers are going to be more and more common. And that’s probably a good thing; obviously we don’t want people getting hit by trains and this is probably cheaper than past solutions, which apparently included station cops at the stations to hand out jaywalking tickets.

I also suspect these barriers may be coming to other locations, such as the Planetarium stop where I recently saw a woman carrying her suitcase over the TRAX:

20131031-144444.jpg

Leave a comment